I am currently reading:

  1. Calvin’s Doctrine of Man by T. F. Torrance
  2. The Theology of John Calvin by Karl Barth
  3. The Cambridge Companion To John Calvin edited by Donald McKim

I am currently involved in quite a bit of research on John Calvin. There is really no end to Calvin research, in that vein, is there anything you all think I must read on Calvin (I’ve already read Steinmetz, Muller, Parker, Dowey, Neisel, Gordon, Partee, Helm, Holmes, Kendall, Canliss, HabetsΒ and some more)? Any theo essays (in journals) you think I need to read?

All of this kind of study is important towards understanding the background to what we are calling Evangelical Calvinism. It is important, of course, because we are claiming Calvin’s name for our theological approach. If Calvin has nothing to do with our categories of thought and framework, then we should just call ourselves Evangelical Reformed. Of course, ‘Reformed’ has become appropriated and thus univocally understood to be another way of saying ‘Calvinist’ (or vice versa). Anyway, the point we are on about in EC is to provide depth and nuance to Calvinism’s development, both historically and constructively . . . thus my reading of Calvin and on Calvin.

P. S. I am also trying to read Karl Barth’s Church Dogmatics in the midst of all this other reading; keep me in prayer πŸ˜‰ .

