Doesn’t the flesh just hate passages like this?:

. . . Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? 20. For you were bought at a price, therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s. ~I Corinthians 6:19, 20

As much as I want to assert myself, in my flesh, circumstances like I am facing (we [my family]) just won’t allow it; they remind me that I am mortal, and not God. But my flesh (sin nature) believes just the opposite, it believes that it is indeed God, and that my life belongs to me; that I create my own destiny, and nobody, but me, will determine how that looks. Yet my spirit says NO (by the Spirit), it recognizes that I am not God; that I don’t belong to myself; that I don’t create my own destiny. This is the space where fear can be injected, between the flesh and the Spirit; my flesh is being confronted with something that lets it know that it’s not in control, and my spirit is saying trust the one who is in control — Jesus Christ. My flesh wants to try and control something it cannot; my spirit wants to relinquish all control to the One who is. It is this constant battle between the flesh and the Spirit (Gal. 5:17) that I continually find myself in. I go from fear (flesh), to the Spirit (peace and confidence). I go from realizing that I am not my own; to wanting to assert “my ownership.”

The Lord continues to say “rest and trust;” He continues to comfort in the direction that this is all going to be okay, that I am fine. His still small voice whispers hope and peace, even in the midst of the storm I mention above. He wants me to just rest in His loving control in the face of what seems to be something like a hurricane which intends to destroy me; He says NO, not at all, grab my hand, Bobby! He knows that my frame is but dust, since He has the same frame (albeit glorified now), and knows how much I can bear (apparently more than I realized 😉 ); He ministers to and through my weakness, He takes that which is intended to destroy and reverses it to something that produces life.

Please continue to pray, pray that this season may be a short one; and that it is about to come to an end. Thank you!

