This pretty much captures how I’ve been feeling lately:

Save me, O God! For the waters have come up to my neck. 2. I sink in deep mire, where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me. 3. I am weary with my crying out; my throat is parched. My eyes grow dim with waiting for my God. ~ Psalm 69:1-3

Then as we keep reading this Psalm it becomes quickly apparent that this is a Messianic Psalm (which in my view they all are); and what else becomes quickly apparent is that what I (we — my family) am going through is actually a partaking in Christ’s sufferings, that His life might also be manifested through the members of my body. Of course this doesn’t make this season any easier, per se, but it does provide the eternal perspective that is needed to trust and rest in Him. None of this suffering is in vain, it is all redeemed in and through Christ’s sufferings and resurrection; that’s why Paul can call seasons like this “light affliction which is but for a moment, that is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory.” It is seasons like this where the pressure of the trial pushes us deeper into Christ so that we won’t rely on ourselves but upon the One who raises the dead! This is but a blip compared to the eternal glories that we will all share in if we know Jesus. We walk by faith not by sight . . .

